A favorite recipe~ Cream Tuna on Toast ~ Quick and easy

One of my favorite standbys is Creamed Tuna on Toast. It’s quick easy, and paired with a veggie, pretty nutritious.
I’ve never really had a ‘recipe’ for it, I just kindof mixed things together. Tonight, I found a recipe online and found it was not what we are used to, so I thought I’d post my own.
First, though, I must say….cream of celery soup does not belong in Creamed Tuna on Toast!!! YUK! It may be easy, but YUK!
I am often surprised at what people come up with to use condensed soups for…cream of chicken, cream of mushroom, cream of cheddar, and cream of celery soups can be found as a base to a lot of recipes. I’ve heard of people making mac & cheese from cream of cheddar soup poured over noodles. This is just unbelievable to me. It doesn’t even sound good! Now, maybe it is…but I’m not sure I’ll ever try it. lol
So…on to my ‘recipe’

First, a white sauce
1/4 c. butter or margarine
1/4 c. flour
2 c. milk

Salt & Pepper to taste
bread for toast

Melt the butter over med-low heat until melted, being careful not to heat too high and burn it. Add the flour and stir until it starts ‘sizzling’. Add milk while whisking.

Heat over medium heat until the sauce bubbles. Add 1 can of tuna, salt and pepper, to taste.

You can double, triple, quadruple this recipe all your heart desires. If you would like to save on milk, you can do 3 parts milk to 1 part water (with the recipe above, that would be 1 1/2 c. milk and 1/2 c. water) but I would not try half water and half milk. It’s just too watery and bland.

Toast bread and pour about 1/3 c. of the creamed tuna on each piece of bread. I personally like to butter my bread first, and my hubby likes cheese on his.

Enjoy!

4 Responses to “A favorite recipe~ Cream Tuna on Toast ~ Quick and easy”

  1. Carrie Baxter (Clemens) Says:

    Crystal,
    This recipe looks interesting. Shawn was telling me how much he loves it! In fact, he was saying that you don’t make this enough for him.

    Actually, I might try this out on my husband… it sounds pretty easy.

  2. nIKI Says:

    this is the recipe my grandma used!! I wasnt sure how much flour or milk to use so i decided to google a recipe and when i found the ones that use cream of celery or cream of mushroom i was like woah!! i dont remember that stuff being in it! thanks for posting :)

  3. lynn Says:

    I was so happy to find this recipe. My mom never got around to showing me how to make it, and when she passed away i thought i would never have it again. She used the same exact ingredents as this recipe. Thank you soooooo much.

  4. Mark Says:

    Awesome! This is what I was looking for. I agree on the cream of celery soup, what the????
    My Grandma added hard boiled eggs. Sounds weird, but try it!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

