Yummy recipe

My husband and I sometimes go to a wine tasting at the local cafe’. We really enjoy the wine, food and the company. This past winter, while we were there for the wine tasting, we had a grilled cheese sandwich and tomato bisque. The tomato bisque was to die for!!! I have been searching for a good recipe ever since. A friend of mine found one, and I made it my own, by tweaking it some. I am posting it here. This is yummy, hearty and a little spicy. Enjoy!
2 T. butter or oil
2 onions, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 15oz can whole tomatoes
1 15oz can tomato sauce
2 cups chicken stock (I use Swanson’s reduced sodium chicken broth) vegetable stock can also
be used
1/4 C. uncooked rice
salt & pepper to taste
1 T chopped basil (or 1 t. pesto)
1/4 t. dried thyme
2 C. half-and-half
several dashes tobasco or other hot pepper sauce (I use Tapatito)
(may need 1 6oz can tomato paste)

Melt butter in a large saucepan and stir in the onions and garlic. Saute until soft and golden over medium-low heat. Pour in the entire can of tomatoes (juice included), chicken stock, rice, salt, pepper, basil, and thyme. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat, partially cover, and simmer for about 30-35 minutes.

Puree the soup in a blender, then pour back into the saucepan. Stir in the half-and-half, the can of tomato sauce, and splash with hot sauce, and taste for seasoning. If the soup does not taste ‘tomatoey’ enough, add some of the tomato paste. I will try a little more next time, and update the recipe. Heat the soup just to a boil, then ladel into bowls.

Garnish with sliced basil leaves or minced parsley.

Great with grilled cheese sandwiches 🙂